2021 Business & Philanthropy Hall Of Fame Inductees Announced


Brian Shebib and Annette Verschuren to be inducted into the Hall of Fame


July 20, 2021

SYDNEY, N.S.-  The Cape Breton Regional Chamber of Commerce (Chamber), in partnership with Cape Breton University (CBU) and the Association of Fundraising Professionals, Cape Breton Chapter (AFP-CB), has released the names of the 2021 inductees into the Cape Breton Business & Philanthropy Hall of Fame, presented by the Sydney Credit Union. The induction of the 2021 Hall of Fame members will take place at an intimate gala event on Tuesday, August 31, at the Sacred Heart Church.

Due to the COVID-19 gathering restrictions this year, the Chamber will induct one member into the Business Hall of Fame and one member into the Philanthropy Hall of Fame. Individuals were selected from a list of nominees who have been submitted through a call for nominations in Winter 2021. Those chosen for the Hall of Fame are Cape Breton’s most esteemed business leaders and philanthropists who have exemplified business excellence, entrepreneurial spirit, and community leadership through their lifelong careers and personal lives.

“With the challenging year the business community has faced, it’s more important than ever to celebrate the significant and positive impacts people are having in our community and beyond. Both of our 2021 laureates have demonstrated outstanding dedication in both business and philanthropy and have a clear commitment to making a difference here in Cape Breton and beyond,” says Darren Chiasson, Hall of Fame Committee Chair.

The Business Hall of Fame recognizes outstanding business achievements over their lifetime body of work, and the 2021 laureate for the Business Hall of Fame is Brian Shebib, former owner of MV Osprey. Brian has done so much for our community; he exhibits entrepreneurial spirit in co-founding MV Osprey, which relocated to North Sydney from Mulgrave in 1996. Today, the business still operates on the coast of North Sydney, landing 10,000 tons of Northern Shrimp each year, employing more than 70 people.

His community impact has been vast, from holding various roles at Cape Breton University to investing in many local initiatives. Brian’s ongoing investment demonstrates his belief in the Island and his desire to continually improve its economic circumstances.

The Philanthropy Hall of Fame recognizes an established philanthropist in Cape Breton who, through the personal contribution of their treasure, time, and talent to the charitable sector, has contributed over a sustained period of 10 years or more. The 2021 laureate for the Philanthropy Hall of Fame is Annette Verschuren. Annette has personally donated to many Cape Breton University initiatives including the Purdy Crawford Chair in Aboriginal Business Studies, the Verschuren Centre for Sustainability for Energy and the Environment, as well as serving as the Chancellor of Cape Breton University.

In addition to Annette’s generosity to Cape Breton University, she also supports many causes in the community including, Cape Breton Voices, the Cape Breton Regional Hospital and the Highland Arts Theatre, to name a few.

Both Annette and Brian have demonstrated commitment to our community with their time, energy, and mentorship, which in turn have broadened opportunities for others and provided inspiration for other entrepreneurs and passionate community-minded individuals.

“There is a strong culture of philanthropy in the community in Cape Breton, and it has created vitally important initiatives, impacting thousands of people every day,” says Steve Horne, President of the Association of Fundraising Professionals, Cape Breton Chapter. “Annette Verschuren is a leader when it comes to giving to her community. She has donated to countless organizations and charities and has impacted the lives of many Cape Bretoners. We are thrilled to welcome her into the Philanthropy Hall of Fame.”

In honour of the inductees, a portion of the proceeds generated from the Business & Philanthropy Hall of Fame Gala creates student awards to help them reach their goals and allow them to thrive and prosper here in our local business community. They will be awarded to students continuing their program of studies in the Shannon School of Business at Cape Breton University. Since its inception in 2004, more than $100,000 has been given to over 100 business students.

“It is a privilege and a great honour for the Chamber to induct two outstanding leaders from our Island into this year’s Cape Breton Business and Philanthropy Hall of Fame. Recognizing both business and philanthropy excellence is a wonderful chance to take the time to celebrate and acknowledge the inductees for their success, and their commitment and generosity to our community. There is so much opportunity here at home and these inductees demonstrate that so perfectly,” says Kathleen Yurchesyn, CEO of the Cape Breton Regional Chamber of Commerce.

The Cape Breton Business Hall of Fame was established in 2002 to honour individuals from the Cape Breton business community who paved the road for future generations in Cape Breton through business achievement and community involvement. In 2016, the mandate of the gala Hall of Fame was broadened to recognize prominent representatives in the philanthropy community.

Due to COVID-19 restrictions, tickets for the public are not available for purchase at this time.